back to top



Stay well during this Covid19 pandemic.

Each book you purchase will be signed by the author with a special inscription to the person in your life.


The Kapheus series is a fantasy adventure story set in the landscape of Ireland along the Wild Atlantic Way. These books are for children aged 8 – 14 years old.

Super Kapheus Gift Box

Kapheus Full Series

Kapheus Final Three Gift Box

Kapheus First Three Gift Box

Kapheus Earth – Book 1


“Last night myself and Faolán finished Kapheus Water. Before we went to sleep most nights we devoured at least one chapter. Each night as I closed the book Faolán said NOOOOOOOOO! because he never wanted the story to end!”

Polly and Faolán

“I have the two books finished in four days, because I am reading them so much. I have a shelf where I put all my best books I’ve read on it! They include Percy Jackson, Harry Potter, Alex Rider and Kapheus.”

Dara, Aged 10.

“We were so honoured and delighted to have Marguerite and her team in our school today to launch her latest novel Kapheus Fire. We even had the privilege of having Marguerite read to us as we all sat around her and listened to her every word!
Thank you, Marguerite for all the lovely compliments you paid our school! We are delighted to have you in our school anytime!”

St. Nicolas’ Primary School, Galway

“People who enjoy myths and legends, as well as Harry Potter fans, would love this book, which is much more mysterious, and a little bit darker than the previous two in the series […] The book has a sense of old mythology to it, with curious druids. I like this because it adds another layer to the story, while keeping the magical feel of the series.”

Eabha Kelly, Galway Independent

“Many thanks for your fantastic, energetic and engaging session with our pupils today. You really held their attention so well! You could see how much they were enjoying your story telling.

I gave your book (Kapheus Fire) to the 4th class girl that you referred to. To say that she was beaming is an understatement! She could not believe your act of kindness. She was so thankful.”

Salesian Primary School Limerick


Marguerite Tonery is an energetic and creative storyteller and author of the Kapheus series of children’s books

Thank you for coming to my website. My name is Marguerite Tonery and I am the  author of the Kapheus series of children’s books.  In these books there is a special connection between the contemporary world and the world of myth and legend. Ka is the Sanskrit for light and this book series is all about the battle between light and dark.  Phe is found in Greek and means to be spoken about and it is nice for a book to be spoken about. By now, I had Kaphe and it was a lilt from then on to create the word Kapheus to represent the fantastical world of light.

David T. Wenzel, the illustrator of The Hobbit, illustrated the front cover of Kapheus Earth (Christmas 2014), and then Kapheus Air (Christmas 2015) and Kapheus Water (Christmas 2016). It was then that Kapheus was taken under  the wing of Tribes Press and Kapheus Fire was illustrated by the French illustrator Fabrice Bertolotto. Fabrice has actually illustrated a revised cover for Kapheus Air and will also be illustrating the cover of the fifth book in the series due for release in September 2019. I am so excited about the upcoming illustrated cover for Kapheus Spirit, the next book in the series. So watch out for it under new fantasy books 2019.

The Kapheus series  has been positively reviewed in newspapers, online magazines and blogs and on several radio stations in Ireland.  Kapheus Air made it to the exclusive Late Late Toy Show bookshelf 2016.


leave a comment